Connected Smart Cities Conference 2018

Lea Hemetsberger

Jan 12, 2018


News & Events

Share this post

The Connected Smart Cities Conference 2018 took place on Thursday, 11 January 2018, at The EGG Brussels. This year’s theme was “Cities Driving the Digital Transition”. Below you will find the speech from European Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society Mariya Gabriel, and greetings from the OASC Chair, Martin Brynskov.

Slides, reports and videos from the conference will be shared in the programme below as they become available in the coming days.




09:00: Welcome: Dr. Martin Brynskov, Chair, Open & Agile Smart Cities (slides)

09:15 – 10:15: Opening Plenary Session (Full video of the opening keynotes)

Moderator: Jarmo Eskelinen, CITO Future Cities Catapult, OASC co-founder (slides)

  • Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society (video)
  • Markku Markkula, First Vice-President, Committee of the Regions
  • Anna Lisa Boni, Secretary General, EUROCITIES (slides)
  • Kees van der Klauw, chair, Alliance for IoT Innovation (AIOTI) (slides)

10:30 – 12:30 Parallel sessions 1

Ecosystem Innovation: Joining Excellence and Capacity Building (Room: Cinema)
Chairs: Zsuzsanna Bodi, ENoLL & Alain Heureux, Creative Ring (slides)

  • Laurent Frideres, Head of Unit, Evidence & Outreach, ESPON (slides)
  • Anna Ståhlbröst – Lulea University / Botnia Living Lab (slides)
  • Rick Schager, City of Eindhoven (slides)
  • Chi-Hyung Lee, President, Seoul Digital Foundation (slides)
  • Mika Rantakokko, City of Oulu, Digital Transition Partnership (slides)
  • Ingrid Willems, DataScout (slides)

IoT-Enabled Smart Cities Market Creation: Policy Issues and Open Calls (Room: Auditorium)
Chairs: Gemma Guilera, Future Cities Catapult & Davor Meersman, OASC (slide)

  • Kim Brostrøm, DOLL Living Lab, Denmark (slides)
  • Dana Eleftheriadou, DG GROW, European Commission (slides)
  • Jung Woo Lee, Seoul Digital Foundation (slides)
  • Nathan Pierce, Greater London Authority, Chair of the Board of Coordinators (EIP-SCC) (slides)
  • Jon Kirkpatrick, Future Cities Catapult (slides)

Energy: Interoperable Smart Homes and Grids (Room: Riverside 3)
Chair: Keith Dickerson, Board member of ETSI; Head of ITU-T SG5 Working Party on ICT and  Climate Change (slides)

  • Rolf Riemenschneider, DG CONNECT IoT Unit, Head of Sector
  • Natalie Samovich, Managing Director, ENERCOUTIM; H2020 VICINITY project (slides)
  • Nikolaos Kontinakis, EUROCITIES, H2020 ESPRESSO project (slides)

Tech track: Platforms for IoT and Smart Cities & Communities: Towards Next Generation Internet (Room: Riverside 1)
Chairs: Carl Piva, TM Forum

  • Boris van Hoytema, City of Amsterdam, The Foundation for Public Code (slides)
  • Bo Fristed, CIO, Aarhus Municipality, Denmark (slides)
  • Juanjo Hierro, CTO, FIWARE Foundation (slides)
  • Juanjo Hierro on behalf of Martino Maggio, Senior Researcher Engineering Ingegneria Informatica/SynchroniCity (slides)
  • John Davies, Chief Researcher, Future Business Technology, BT (slides)
  • Rob van Kranenburg, Founder of IoT Council, Next Generation Internet (slides)
  • Omar Elloumi, AIOTI Working Group on Smart Cities, Nokia (slides)

13:30 – 15:30 Parallel session 2

Data Protection: Securing Privacy while Enabling Innovation (Room: Riverside 1)
Chairs and Speakers: Sébastien Ziegler, President, IoT Forum, Mandat International & Hanna Niemi-Hugaerts, Forum Virium Helsinki
Additional Speakers: 

  • Jon Kirkpatrick, Head of Connected Cities, Future Cities Catapult (slides)

Smart Mobility: Getting there (Room: Auditorium)
Chairs: Seppo Haataja, OASC WG Mobility, Business Tampere (slide) & Piia Karjalainen, ERTICO, MaaS Alliance (slides)

  • Francois Fischer, ERTICO (slides)
  • Guido Dipasquale, UITP (slides)
  • Nikolas Thomopoulos, University of Greenwich (slides)
  • André Duarte, EMBERS project, Ubiwhere (slides)
  • Olaf-Gerd Gemein, Smart City Lab (slides)
  • Matteo Satta, Issy Media, City of Issy-les-Moulineaux (slides)

Natural Resources: Digital Water and Beyond (Room: Riverside 3)
Chairs and Speakers: Andrea Rubini, Scientific and Policy Manager, the European Water Platform WssTP & Jürgen Sturm, Texas Instruments, AIOTI Working Group on Water Management
Additional Speakers:

  • Matevž Straus, City of Idrija

Tech track: Global Standards for IoT and Smart Cities & Communities (Room: Cinema)
Chairs: Martin Brynskov, OASC, Aarhus University & Nikolaos Kontinakis, EUROCITIES (slides)

  • Christophe Colinet, EUROCITIES KSF Standards lead (slides)
  • Lindsay Frost, ETSI ISG CIM / NEC Labs Europe (slides)
  • Paul Copping, ETSI ISG CDP / Royal Borough of Greenwich, London (slides)
  • Maria Poveda, Universidad de Politécnica de Madrid (slides)
  • Bart de Lathouwer, OGC/ESPRESSO (slides)
  • Georges Lobo, Policy Officer, Interoperability, DG DIGIT, European Commission (slides)
  • Svetoslav Mihaylov, Policy Officer, Smart Mobility and living, DG CONNECT, European Commission
  • Marco Carugi, ITU-T FG-DPM / NEC (slides)

16:00 – 17:00 Closing Plenary Session (Full video of the closing plenary)

Moderator: Jarmo Eskelinen, CITO Future Cities Catapult, OASC co-founder

  • Results from the parallel sessions (Session Chairs)
  • Mechthild Rohen, HoU IoT Unit, DG CONNECT
  • Silke Obst, Member of the Cabinet of European Commissioner Violeta Bulc, DG MOVE, European Commission
  • Mary-Ann Schreurs, Vice-Mayor, City of Eindhoven; Chair, EUROCITIES Knowledge Society Forum
  • Martin Brynskov, Chair, OASC, Aarhus University

Thank you to all participants and partners!